Ayurveda "The Science of Life and Longevity"

Here at Gentleawakening we offer pulse reading {Nadivigyan}

To know about life is Ayurveda. However, to fully comprehend the vast scope of Ayurveda let us first define "Ayu" or life. According to the ancient Ayurvedic scholar Charaka, "ayu" is comprised of four essential parts. The combination of mind, body, senses and the soul.

What is Ayurveda?
Ayurveda is a Sanskrit word that means “The Science of Life and Longevity.” Perhaps the oldest existing healing science, Ayurvedic knowledge originated in India more than 5000 years ago and is often called the “Mother of all Healing.” This holistic and natural healing science was discovered and developed by the Seers of ancient India who were known as rishis.

Ayurveda addresses itself not only to the body and mind but also to the human spirit and consciousness. Its principles are easy for anyone to adopt, leading to a better health and well-being.

The Strategy

Ayurveda places great emphasis on prevention and encourages the maintenance of health through close attention to balance in one’s life, right thinking, diet, lifestyle and the use of herbs. Knowledge of Ayurveda enables one to understand how to create this balance of body, mind and consciousness and how to make lifestyle changes to bring about and maintain this balance.

Many factors, both internal and external, act upon us to disturb this balance and are reflected as a change in one’s constitution from the balanced state. Examples of these emotional and physical stresses include one’s emotional state, diet, and food choices, seasons, and weather, physical trauma, work and relationships.

Three Principle Energies

The ancient texts of Ayurveda identify three basic types of energy or functional principles that are present in everyone and everything. Since there are no single words in English that convey these concepts, we use the orginal Sanskrit words, vata, pitta, and kapha. These basic principles can be related to the basic biology of the body.

Vata is the energy of movement, pitta is the energy of digestion or metabolism and kapha, the energy of lubrication and structure.

All people have the qualities of vata, pitta, and kapha, but one is usually primary, one secondary and the third is usually least prominent.